cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet-Box plus DNS resolution very slow

Contributor
1 of 11

Hello,

I have been using an Internet-Box plus for a few years without any major problem.

Now, ever since the latest firmware 08.08.26 has been pushed to my router, I am noticing a considerable delay in DNS resolution of hostnames, which of course considerably slows down opening webpages.

I have finally decided to install a BIND9 DNS server on a local Linux machine I have, and DNS resolution time is back to normal.

Of course this is an issue for all the devices on the network, made even worse due to the impossibility of changing the DNS server address which the DHCP server inside of the Internet-Box sends to the DHCP clients.

I would have to manually change the configuration of every device, and that is clearly an additional complication that I would like to avoid.

I thus raise two points:

1- am I the only one noticing that DNS resolutions is especially slow since firmware 08.08.26 was installed?

2- would it be possible to add an expert configuration item in the DHCP configuration to point the DHCP clients to a DNS server different than that on the DHCP server itself?

Many thanks, Luca

10 Comments
Super User
2 of 11

hi

1. no, how do you measure? ns lookup and you measure the time?
  2. AFAIK you can configure a specifiy DSN Server. did you check your router settings unter 192.168.1.1?

Cheers

Novice
3 of 11

1) same here. "tracert www.cff.ch" always stuck at the 5th step

2) not sure I understand that. The 192.168.1.1 settings let you change the DNS servers. But sadly without any effect (with google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.8.4 for example)

Super User
4 of 11

on the GUI of your internet box, you can change the DNS server.

Otherwise you can also change it locally on your clients.

Contributor
5 of 11

Thanks for your answer @suisse.